Refreshing Fruit Salad Syrup

Easter tends to be a time when you end up with a gaggle of colored eggs and find creative ways to use them in all sorts of recipes.  So when Himself declared he wanted an egg free Easter I was happy.  I think my joy came from knowing I wasn’t going to have to deal with multicoloured egg salad sandwiches served to me this year!

He then dropped his own little egg shaped news,  he wanted to host a wee brunch where everyone brings something.  He was making latkes and wanted to know what I might want to do, or if I wanted to leave it all to him.

Not feeling like cooking and having made a massive mistake in the market yesterday I immediately said fruit salad with syrup and dressing, both on the side.  I love fruit salad, I love it plain, but it’s always a little special when there are things to put on it!☺️

So I set about chopping up the copious amounts of fruit I bought (one day I will get the weight system figured out😉).  Vanilla tends to lend itself well to fruit especially when you have a variety of different fruits being mixed together so I decided to make a simple, refreshing vanilla and Rosemary (😮) syrup.  Somehow it just works.

I won’t bother with the details of the fruit salad because it is really a taste and preference thing and instead tell you how I made the syrup.  Which, being like most things I do, is utterly flexible so you can change a flavour if you find one deplorable for something pleasing to your palate!

Here is what you need for the syrup:

1/2 cup (125 ml) water

3 Tbsp. (45 ml) granulated sugar

1 cinnamon stick

1 thick slice peeled ginger 

1 small sprig fresh rosemary (or used dried if you wish, or omit, but it adds depth)

Half vanilla bean, split lengthwise (or 1/4 tsp. /1 ml vanilla extract)


Leave a Reply

