Chicken Liver and Wild Rice Bake

Special holiday meals often call for a whole roast turkey and I look forward to it for one reason: I will get the liver. No other cut is nearly as interesting to me. If I’m at my mom and dad’s house, we ALL want it. If I’m at Sweet Baboo’s parent’s place, I just have to get there before they fish it out and give it to the dog. Somehow, this small piece of meat has a very polarizing effect on people – you either want it or you don’t.

A few weeks ago, my grocer had trays of chicken livers ON SALE! My heart palpitates with excitement! Since this happens only on very rare occasions, I snapped up two small packages. Sweet Baboo groaned and asked me to promise not to feed him any.

Unable to resist their clarion call from the freezer, I made chicken livers en croute with the first package. It was delightful!

The problem then became that there was only one tray left and it must be part of a memorable meal. What could be better than one delicacy? Hmm. How about two? And off I went!

Here’s what I used:

  • 1/4 cup wild rice
  • 1 cup water
  • one serving of Souper Starter or one bouillon cube
  • one tomato (158 g)
  • one carrot
  • one onion
  • one package of thawed, rinsed chicken livers (392 g)
  • freshly cracked black pepper
  • greek seasoning

This recipe makes four generous servings. Each serving has this nutrition:

  • Calories: 240
  • Fat: 7.3 g
  • Carbs: 16.5 g
  • Protein: 27.2 g

Into a medium-size lidded casserole dish, I measured 1/4 cup wild rice.

wild rice

Since wild rice expands to four times its size when cooked, you only need a little.

Dice a juicy tomato.

tomato

Slice a carrot into matchsticks and dice an onion. Add the vegetables, rice and souper starter to the casserole.

carrot onion and souper starter

Mix the ingredients well.

rice and veg

Now add 1 cup of hot water so that the souper starter distributes evenly throughout the dish and the rice has ample liquid to cook in. Top everything with the tender chicken livers, freshly cracked black pepper and greek seasoning.

add liver and spice

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and tightly cover the casserole dish before sliding it into the hot oven for an hour. When it emerges, the chicken livers will melt in your mouth!

done

The smell from the oven was irresistible! I don’t mind telling you that all four servings disappeared in short order! 🙂

To see the nutritional information for the ingredients you have on hand, plug the information in here: https://loseit.com/#Settings:Shared%20Items!id=0bdb5fc8a22f482b845e1cc22e49e9d2|user=13675289

4 thoughts on “Chicken Liver and Wild Rice Bake

Leave a Reply

