In for a penny, in for a pound

Mary, Mary, quite contrary,
How does your garden grow?
With silver bells, and cockle shells,
And pretty maids all in a row.

Town, I’m excited. And nervous. And hopeful.

The seeds I ordered for my garden this year just came in. I don’t like to count my chickens before they have hatched, but I do hope that I can foster another happy, healthy garden this year. You never know what the weather will be like or if plants will be happy enough to grow vigorously into the productive specimens of your dreams, but hope is a powerful thing, so I will:

  • Venture outside in late May to plant, dressed head to foot in winter skiing garb in a vain attempt to avoid the mosquitoes who will still somehow obtain their pound of flesh regardless of my ministrations and threats to their wellbeing.
  • Crouch on prickly thistles and squish slugs with my knees while endeavouring to rid the garden of weeds. Some of these “weeds” will invariably be new plants I am trying to grow for the first time and didn’t recognize until too late whereupon I will try to replant them and after about 3 or 4, give up and relegate their sad remains to the compost pile.
  • Water the tiny seedlings and talk to them, stopping to smell their vivid fragrance that is better than any store-bought perfume.
  • Check every day for new growth, flowers, and signs of firstfruits.
  • Watch the assiduous harvestmen (daddy-long-leg spiders) tending to the garden much more effectively than I ever could. What a relief that they help me each year!
  • Plan for meals and preserves that will see us through the winter and give us hope for a new Spring.

Here are some of the plants I hope to nurture in my garden this year:

Garlic Chive

Garlic Chive

Stevia

Stevia

Ligularia

Ligularia

Dwarf Korean Lilac

Dwarf Korean Lilac

Celery

Celery

Thyme

Thyme

Tomato

Tomato

Tomatillo

Tomatillo

Ground Cherry (Psyalis)

Ground Cherry (Psyalis)

Summer Savory

Summer Savory

Potato

Potato

Pepper

Pepper

Onion

Onion

Basil

Basil

Dill

Dill

Lemon Balm

Lemon Balm

There is no plan yet for where and how; all I know is what I would like to grow and now I have the seeds ready for planting. Cross your fingers for me!

3 thoughts on “In for a penny, in for a pound

Leave a Reply

