The A-Peas-Ment; a mushy compromise

When you think about it, relationships and recipes have a great deal in common. In both cases compromise and balance must be achieved, with no one ingredient out-shining another. in both cases you sometimes wonder how these items will all turn out when mixed together and often times you are pleasantly surprised at the end results.

As you know Kountry, I can be a somewhat picky eater and have been known to be a quick judge of things at times. What you may or may not know is that I detest peas. There I said it! 😊 It may have all started with my Grandmother who vividly remembered the Depression and how canned food was at least a way to get veggies and stuff and this for the rest of her life served only canned veggies.

If you’ve ever seen canned peas you will know what I mean when I say they have a greyish green hue to them and taste horrible. Perhaps it stared with being served old peas, strong in flavour and horribly wrinkled skin. All I know is for as far back as I can remember, peas were unappealing! πŸ˜‰ Himself, on the other hand, adore peas….mushy peas to be exact. They were a staple of his childhood, probably because they are simple and inexpensive. To this day if something is upsetting Himself, if he has had a hard day at work or just wants a snack, mushy peas come to mind. The man can eat them by the bowlful by themselves or as a side dish. When we were first seeing how we’d mix together he made me some lamb chops and mushy peas. I didn’t want to hurt his feelings, and I thought maybe the key to enjoying peas was in the mush so I tried them. Let’s just say they weren’t what made me love him! 😊

The recipe he used is his mothers which is basically some handfuls of dried marrowfat peas, a sprinkle of baking soda, some salt and pepper. Because the peas are dried, you need to soak them over night in water that is boiling when you add it to the pan along with the baking soda, stirring to ensuring the soda has dissolved. You cover them and let them soak for at least 12 hours, but no more than 24 hours. Next you drain the peas, then place them in a sauce pan, cover them with cold water and put the lid on the pan. Bring this to a boil, lower the heat and let them simmer for 30 mins or until the peas are mushy. Then you serve them with seasoning such as salt and pepper, perhaps butter or some mint.

Now Himself loves this dish as I’ve said before, but for me to eat peas, well I hate to say it but they have to be sweet and raw. Yep, you read that right. Here’s where the compromise comes in, Himself makes mushy peas that are somewhat appealing to me these days. He gets fresh young peas, shells them and puts them in a bowl with a bit of salt and pepper. Sometimes he uses mint or shallots as added flavourings. He puts a few splashes of water in the bowl and mashes the raw peas. This way we both enjoy mushy peas and he still has a bit of comfort from his childhood. Kountry, I’m not sure if they sell dried marrowfat peas where you are, but I do know they can be found canned.

2 thoughts on “The A-Peas-Ment; a mushy compromise

Leave a Reply

