Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day Town!

This is my favourite day of the year. It always has been. Single or not, I love that there is a day where we recognize that love is all around us, making us all better people. We all forget to show love from time to time, but somehow we are all rescued and brought back to it. It’s nothing short of magical – the best magic there is. Thank you God for never giving up on us!

My Valentine’s present to you this year is the gift of virtual food and a sprinkling of Kountry philosophy – this may be the first year I get your present right. 🙂

So, what’s this virtual food? Well, it’s something you’ve seen me do many times, but you often passed by, likely dismissing the ritual as some kind of off-beat quirk. Since this time you are a somewhat captive audience, you’re going to see the whole thing top to bottom.

Most countries have the snack that I am going to talk about – I believe it all started with the French ideas of non-pareils and pastillage. I’m talking about Smarties -the chocolate drops coated in a thin, hard, coloured-sugar coating. Different places have different sizes, colours, ingredients, names and flavours, but the idea is essentially the same: smooth chocolate that melts easily on your tongue is enrobed in a coating that takes much longer to melt in your pocket. 🙂   Warmer countries add more wax to keep the coating intact for longer, but that isn’t really needed here.

Remember the Smarties song?

When you eat your Smarties,
Do you eat the red ones last?
Do you suck them very slowly,
Or crunch them very fast?
Eat that candy-coated chocolate,
But tell me when I ask,
When you eat your Smarties,
Do you eat the red ones last?

If you don’t remember the tune, here it is:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9B2L4vjELF8

smarties bag

Sweet Baboo buys large bags of Smarties on a regular basis for me – he knows they are a life staple. What a good boy! They come in a myriad of different sizes, but the best idea the company has come up with (in my opinion) is the resealable bag that you can take a few out of and save the rest for later.

Because I am on a diet and I don’t always have enough calories to eat a whole package of Smarties in one sitting, I worked out the nutrition per one piece of Smarties candy.

One Smartie has

  • Calories: 5
  • Fat: 0.1 g
  • Carbs: 0.8 g
  • Protein: 0 g

So you’re probably thinking they are not that healthy. I don’t know about that. While I have long maintained that chocolate comes from a bean and sugar comes from beets (mostly) which means that Smarties are just a serving of vegetables, I have another thought. Love is not necessarily something one needs in order to live, right? It’s an intangible substance, yet people who willingly make room for love in their lives – both giving and receiving – are generally happier, more fulfilled, and healthier than those who refuse it. Love makes life sweeter and more hopeful. That’s reason enough to make it the main ingredient in life. Candy is sweet. It’s the nutritional equivalent of the concept of intangibility because it won’t do much for a person and no one needs it to live, yet it tends to make people happy. Candy is sort of like the physical representation of love. Maybe that is why no matter what lifestyle a person pursues, room is always made for love and candy. ♥  No wonder that special celebrations abound to share love and sweets!

There are around 24 Smarties in a single-serving box that you can buy in the candy section of the grocery store. Since it’s Valentine’s Day, let’s go crazy and have 30! Excitement!

out

Every box has a random number of each colour. I like that – it’s individual and different every time – just like people. While the outside wrapping is usually pretty standard, we all have different properties making us all exciting and unique. That’s why I don’t like personality testing, Town. No one will ever accurately quantify a person or predict their actions or motives – those tests assume that we are all the same inside and out which means their creators felt that no one is really worthwhile getting to know. No, no, NO. No one is a mindless, interchangeable automaton. People are there to be enjoyed and loved, not used. Same goes for Smarties. 🙂

The random handful that I grabbed just happens to have some of every colour. I’d be delighted no matter what colours I got – let’s face it – they’re all chocolate!

The first thing I do is to arrange the colours in rainbow order.

the initial lineup

I consider brown a deep red. 🙂

I like rainbows because the Bible says it’s God’s way of saying He loves us. Eye candy! Bright colours make us happy and that’s probably why. Not long ago, you talked about how professionals are perceived because of their uniforms. When you wear colour, you brighten not only your day, but also the day of everyone who sees you – it’s encouragement without saying a word – passing on a small piece of the rainbow.

Notice how there are some Smarties that are an even number of one colour and some that have an odd number of a colour? Like the animals going into Noah’s ark, I eat Smarties in pairs, but I will not eschew the singles. All chocolate; all loveable. Ever felt the pain of being chosen last in gym class for a team because you didn’t have the skills the team captain felt was valuable? Not on my watch. The singles are the first sweet taste to be enjoyed.

culling the odds

some

Red is my favourite colour so, like the song, I’ll always save it to eat last.

Purple is my least favourite colour, so I eat it first. When I was 5, I was riding on a grain wagon during harvest time. It turned to go up a ramp (the gangway into the barn) and my left leg was caught between the wagon tongue and the bed of the wagon. It was very painful and my leg turned bright purple. Not wanting to dwell on it, I don’t like to look at purple for very long. These are the ones I CRUNCH loudly. Purple is also the widely accepted colour denoting power. For centuries, only royalty could afford to wear clothing dyed purple. I’ve noticed that people who accumulate excess power often do so at the expense of love. This only results in pain. The right amount of power/influence/charisma – what is natural for each person – is the combination of love and passion native to your life; anything more will make you unhappy.

Crunch, crunch, CRUNCH! YUM!

even less

much less

last two contestants

reds

I ascribe characteristics to each colour and generally eat them in an order corresponding to my mood and the number of each particular colour that is present. Blue is the colour of love; green the colour of growth; yellow the colour of joy; orange, creativity; pink, assertiveness; red, passion and brown is loyalty.

Who knew Smarties could be so deep?

Go out and enjoy all the fabulous arrays of qualities in those you love today!

3 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

