Sunshine For Your Soul, Tantalizing Taste In A Soup?

When I’m feeling really under the weather, unmotivated and rather depressed by heavy grey skies, I look for a little sunshine in my food. To me, citrus screams sunshine so I tend to make something with citrus in it!

When I feel under the weather, I basically yearn for soup so combine that with heavy grey skies that seem to have developed wee leakage issues and there is only one thing that will do. May I present the simple, humble, yet satisfying Greek Orzo soup?!

This is a basic soup one that if you have bits and bobs on hand is a snap to pull together. Of course it’s also very versatile and adapts to change better than most people I know! 😉

Here’s what you need:
6 c good quality chicken broth (homemade, store bought, it doesn’t matter)
1-2 cooked chicken breasts thinly sliced or diced or shredded (don’t feel restricted by the chicken breast: use whatever part you have or like best)
1-2 green onions thinly sliced into delicate onion bits
1/4 c of lemon juice (fresh or bottled if that’s what is on hand)
2 eggs, (don’t worry we will cook them)
1 1/4 c cooked orzo pasta (or any other kind of pasta, or barely or quinoa or rice)

Okay I know that list is daunting so let’s roll up our sleeves and get a cloth because we will need to wipe the sweat off our brows for this one! Just kidding! This is easy, even Himself can do this when suffering from the flu! 😉

Heat that lovely golden chicken broth to a simmer, add your beautifully delicate onion slices and give it a stir. Now add the pasta, the chicken and again with the hard work of stirring. Feeling the burn yet? Yeah didn’t think so! Now we add the lemon juice. Doesn’t it smell like sunshine?

Okay get yourself a small bowl and crack open both of those eggs. Grab a trusty fork, mix it the eggs until they are nicely beaten. Now we need to keep our fork as we go over to the broth because we are going to slowly pour our eggs into the soup while we stir the soup with the fork. This creates lovely egg ribbons. No no it’s okay, the egg will cook and the ribbons are good.

That’s pretty much it, other than putting it in a bowl and eating it up!

I sometimes add spinach, parmesan cheese, parsley, or so on to it. Basically it’s about the flavour. Because when you have the flavour right, it’s a hug from the inside and splash of sunshine in your soul!

4 thoughts on “Sunshine For Your Soul, Tantalizing Taste In A Soup?

  1. Town, I have always wanted to try that soup. I think what stops me is I am afraid of undercooking the egg OR shredding the egg so much that it looks like sawdust soup instead of pleasing ribbons. Maybe we could make this together so I feel like I have a safety blanket?

    Like

    • The egg can’t shred beyond shall ribbons, and the if the broth us hot, the egg cooks. How do I know? My first few times I didn’t slowly pour the egg into the broth, figuring is dump it in and then stir and had instant scrambled eggs! 😉
      But of course we can make this together!
      I think we are going to need a commercial sized kitchen for all the things we want to make together!

      Like

  2. I think you’re right. Town. One of my old friends used to say that you have to ask the universe for what you want and it will come to you in good time. Sounds like you just did. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

