Chicken livers en croute

I love food rich in iron.

Brussels sprouts? Bring them on.

Spinach? More please!

Steak? Of course!

Chocolate? What a question!

All of these are great sources of heme, but best of all is LIVER.

I’ve been looked at strangely for years when I’ve confessed my adulation for this humble offal…some people call it downright awful, but that doesn’t change my mind. Every once in a while when the mood strikes, you’ll find me indulging in this rare treat with glee!

My grandmother was the first person to show me how to cook liver and I use her recipe with a small exception: the breading. Cornflakes were au courant in her day. I could never get used to the idea of breakfast wrapped around my non-breakfast meal, so instead, something with a little more spice was added.

It’s a simple, inexpensive dish:

  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 344 g chicken livers
  • 30 flavoured salad croutons

First, open up the package of chicken livers.

in the package

Rinse them off well. Measure 1 cup of skim milk into a bowl or large measuring cup and immerse the chicken livers. The longer you let the two mingle, the more mellow the liver becomes, so I usually let it have a milk bath overnight. It builds anticipation, no?

one cup milkin the drink

Next, it’s time to take out any frustrations from the previous day. Place 30 flavoured salad croutons in a sealable sandwich bag. Grab your kitchen tenderizer or a mallet. Pulverize the croutons into crumby oblivion!

30 croutons in a bag crushed

When you’re ready to cook your succulent treat, dump the crumbs into a small bowl. Gently scoop each piece of liver out of the milk with clean fingers (it’s very fragile at this point) and lightly cover it in the crumbs before placing it on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper.

ready to bake

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. The liver will take roughly 40 minutes to bake to perfection.

done

What you get is a crunchy, slightly spicy coating contrasting with a silky-smooth pâté-like liver filling. Amazing! The nutrition isn’t bad either:

Nutrition per serving (half of this recipe)

  • Calories: 401
  • Fat: 14.1 g
  • Carbs: 15.6 g
  • Protein: 51 g

One thing I didn’t know about this recipe is that it’s even better cold, straight out of the refrigerator than it is hot from the oven! I usually always eat the whole thing as soon as it is done baking, so I never discovered how tasty it was chilled. Now that I know, I’ll always try to save half for later. 🙂

If I can restrain myself, that is.

5 thoughts on “Chicken livers en croute

  1. I think I will pass this one up. I’m not a fan of liver, tried multiple types many ways and it is always yuck for me. Partially due to texture and partially due to taste. But glad you enjoyed them!

    Like

  2. Town, you’re just one of the folks who think offal is awful! 🙂
    I think people are drawn to foods that their bodies need. You love bread; I hardly touch it. I’m iron-deficient so I eat lots of iron-rich food; I suspect you are not.
    Sweet Baboo isn’t a big liver lover either, so I made him the Soya Good Pepper Steak to eat while I had the liver. We both tried each other’s food and liked it – he even said it was tasty – but you know, different strokes for different folks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

