Raspberry Wine Gels – Kountry’s take on Mizu Shingen Mochi

Have you heard about the new dessert craze taking foodies by storm in Japan? It’s called Mizu Shingen Mochi, or, in English, Water Cake. It’s low calorie, futuristic and the most interesting thing about it is that if you don’t touch it, it disappears in 30 minutes! Have a look:

mizu shingen mochi

I first found it on the Nerdist blog, written by Jenn Fujikawa:

http://www.nerdist.com/2015/01/the-future-of-dessert-is-here-and-its-a-water-cake/

What it is, in actuality, is a congealed water ball held together with agar agar and sugar which is then flavoured by pairing it with high fructose corn syrup and kinako (roasted soybean flour).  It disappears in 30 minutes because the agar agar can only hold the water in that shape for so long. Like Cinderella’s lost coach, you soon have the garden gourd it really is: flour, sugar, water.

Interesting to look at? TOTALLY! Serving it would be a great party trick, but you’d probably have to serve it first to make sure it doesn’t dissolve and that makes it an appetizer, not a dessert.

I wish I could say that I want to eat it. Never in my life have I ever said that flour, sugar and water would be a great snack right now. Still not going to happen. Why? Well, for starters, I like flavour. In my mind, the pièce de résistance of a meal should be savoured. I intentionally save room in my day for dessert and I want to remember it. Secondly, I’m on a diet. If I save calories for something special, it had better be good because I don’t get to have something to compensate later. (I’ve lost 11 pounds so far, by the way!)

Now, that’s just my opinion. Please don’t let me dissuade you from trying water cake – who knows, it could be a fun experience! After all, my curiosity about this new fad lead me to create something in the same vein, but with flavour, texture and colour that are memorable and worthy of being served at the end of an elegant dinner date. Will it disappear? Yes – it took much less than 30 minutes for me to enjoy every last spoonful and it’s now out of sight in my tummy. Isn’t that really the kind of disappearing act you WANT your food to make? 🙂

Raspberry Wine Gels (8 servings)

  • 1 cup dry red wine (I used Mission Ridge)
  • 1 cup apple juice
  • 3 1/2 g powdered gelatine
  • 1 cup fresh raspberries
  • 8 Tbsp maple syrup

First, run some hot tap water over some small glasses or moulds and set them aside to drip-dry. This is an old restaurant trick – it helps gelatine to release more easily later because a tiny water film separates the gelatine from the mould.

Pour 1 cup of apple juice into a measuring cup.

This is my homemade apple juice from the apples picked in my backyard. Store-bought apple juice would be just as good.

This is my homemade apple juice from the apples picked in my backyard. Store-bought apple juice would be just as good.

Add 3 1/2 grams of gelatine. You don’t need to mix it in – it will do that for you.

gelatine

gelatine in the drink

In only a few minutes, the gelatine dissolves and evenly distributes itself for you!

Measure 1 cup of dry red wine into a small saucepan. Bring the wine to a rolling boil.

boiling dry red wine

Get your fresh raspberries out of the refrigerator.

raspberries in the clam shell

Time for a drunken raspberry hot tub! Throw the raspberries into the boiling wine, let it come back up to a boil and then let the whole thing simmer for 5 minutes.

drunken raspberry hot tub

Pour the raspberries and wine into the apple juice and gelatine; stir well. Pour 1/4 cup into each of the waiting moulds and set them in the refrigerator, uncovered, overnight.

In the morning, this is what you’ll see:

A frosty glass of raspberry-grapey goodness!

A frosty glass of raspberry-grapey goodness!

To un-mould the gel, run the outside of the mould under hot tap water. If necessary, gently encourage it away from the sides of the mould with a non-serrated butter knife.

released from the mould

See how the raspberry drupelets festively crown the top?

Drizzle 1 Tbsp maple syrup over the top.

done

Have you ever looked up into the sky to see sunbeams piercing through fluffy, cotton-candy clouds? This dessert tastes like that! The sharp, tangy flavour of the wine tempered by the raspberries hits your tastebuds first, followed by the mellow sweetness of the maple syrup. Dreamy! I wish I could offer you a taste.

Yum!

Yum!

The most surprising thing of all is that this dessert is fewer calories than the water cake! See for yourself (nutrition per serving):

Comparison

Please note: because there is no recipe online (that I can find), I watched the video for water cake and noted that it contained 2 cups water, 1/4 cup agar agar, 1 Tbsp white sugar, 2 Tbsp high fructose corn syrup and 1 Tbsp kinako.

7 thoughts on “Raspberry Wine Gels – Kountry’s take on Mizu Shingen Mochi

  1. Kountry I can honestly say that I’ve never heard of a water cake until now. my do not think I’d want one because it sounds a bit too sweet for my liking.

    I’ve had something similar to what you made, with a nice white zinfedel, raspberries and gelatin that bloomed in water. That was it. I’ve also had it with champagne and each time I have it makes me smile.
    I could definitely try your recipe, minus the maole syrup though.

    Like

  2. Town, you read my mind. After I found out how good this was, I started wondering about pairing the raspberries with white grape juice. Since I don’t drink, this is the last wine I’ll get to cook with for quite some time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

