Tuna Loaf Challenge – Kountry

Once in a while, I want a taste of home. Mom made a lot of tuna loaf when I was growing up and for some reason, that’s one of the recipes I gravitate towards when I want a bit of comfort food. While I was reaching into the cupboard to grab a can of tuna or two, I felt several holes burning in the back of my shirt…. my darling fishies were watching in grave consternation. A short while later after a consoling discussion, somewhat convinced that I was not eating their close relatives and wouldn’t dream of serving them up with lemon and tartar sauce either, they resumed their exercise and I slunk back to the kitchen, feeling more than a little guilty. That’s the reason why I don’t eat a lot of fish!

All that wasn’t enough to deter me tonight. Tuna loaf visions swam through my head, urging me on. I had something new to try in this simple, serviceable recipe: quinoa.

Here’s what I used:

  • Two 85g cans of tuna
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 yellow onion, diced finely
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa

First, to get the cup of cooked quinoa, combine 1 cup water with 1/2 cup quinoa. Bring it to a boil and then simmer until the water is gone and there’s only plump, pretty quinoa pearls in the pan.

quinoa

Dice a yellow onion.

onion

Empty the tuna into a bowl with the chopped onion. My two cans of tuna were two different flavours, so I split everything in half.

tuna

Italian Pesto

Italian Pesto

Mexican Chipotle

Mexican Chipotle

The quinoa didn’t take long to cook, so once it cooled, the large egg got beaten in and half of the mixture went into each bowl to be mixed thoroughly.

mixed

Time to put each loaf in an adorable little pyrex pan to bake in the oven.

put in pans

In a preheated 375 degree Fahrenheit oven they baked for 40 minutes and came out a lustrous tawny gold colour.

golden brown and from the oven

Confession time: Everything on Sweet Baboo’s plate always looks better than what is on my plate. The chipotle loaf was for him, but I just HAD to know what it tasted like, so I cut each sweet little loaf in half so that we could try them equally. Look at the pearly texture that the quinoa gives the little loaves – it’s like a special built-in necklace for this chicken-of-the-sea!

pearly texture

I have to say that I was delighted by the flavours in each loaf. The Italian pesto tasted fresh and bright – like something that should be served in a little shell with lemon zest and cream cheese at a frou-frou garden party. The Mexican chipotle was smoky like a charred, roasted red pepper in tangy tomato sauce – it reminded me of sitting around a campfire by the lake, laughing with friends – just hearty, straightforward and good.

One little loaf is a single serving and it has these nutritional values:

  • Calories: 338
  • Fat: 15.8g
  • Carbs: 27.4g
  • Protein: 21.8g

What is YOUR tuna loaf like? I can’t wait to see what you do! Check out our challenge at:

https://wordpress.com/post/70185943/1032/

One thought on “Tuna Loaf Challenge – Kountry

Leave a Reply

