Warmth on a wintry day: Citron Tea

Town, I often hear you expound on your love of coffee. It seems like most adults love either coffee or tea. I guess I haven’t grown up yet because while I will drink it politely if offered, I really don’t care for either. Let me show you what I DO like.

What I prefer instead is something fruity, sweet and bright: Citron Tea. Citrons are one of the oldest citrus fruits, along with pummelos, mandarins and papedas. While they don’t have a lot of sweet, juicy pulp inside, they are very flavourful and aromatic with a thick skin encircling the fruit.

Years ago when I arrived in Pusan, South Korea to work, it wasn’t long before I was asked by an acquaintance to go to a coffee shop. I sighed inwardly, wondering if I could ever escape coffee, but I nodded and followed. My new friend said to me, ” Let me order,” and I am so glad that she did! Right then and there I got my first taste of citron tea – what a delight! It was equally sweet, tangy and thirst-quenching – what a dreamy trifecta!

bottle

There are very few ingredients in citron tea. After all, why mess with perfection? Most include shaved whole citrons (skins, pulp and seeds), honey, sugar and something to preserve colour.

watch out

One thing to watch out for is the seeds. If you bite down on a seed when you have the tea, it’s quite bitter, so it is best to remove the seeds before making the tea.

One look inside the bottle may make you think that marmalade resides within, but citron tea is much less sweet and less gelled than marmalade is. While you can probably spread citron tea on toast, you can’t make tea with marmalade. I tried – it just doesn’t work.

How do you make it? Simple. Boil water in a kettle and while you wait, spoon 3 tsp of citron tea into a mug. Remove the seeds. Pour boiling water over the tea and stir. YUM!

done

There you have it – liquid sunshine!

I like to save the best for last, so I drink all of the tea and eat all of the fruit peel when the tea is gone – it’s like a mini dessert at the end.

One steaming mug of citron tea has 80% of your daily vitamin C quota. Here’s the nutritional values:

Nutrition:

  • Calories: 55
  • Fat: 0
  • Carbs: 13g
  • Protein: 0

Try it – I bet you’ll like it too!

5 thoughts on “Warmth on a wintry day: Citron Tea

Leave a Reply

