Profiteroles filled with creamy strawberry Greek yogurt

Town, part of the challenge I issued was to either make something distinctively Viking-esque or boldy venture into previously unknown territory.

Profiteroles are something I always hunted down at fancy parties. The barely-there pastry covering a smooth, soft custard stole my attention away from all the other hors d’oeuvres. Certain that it was far too complicated to muster, I only entertained hope of enjoying them in the company of those who had preordered them from a French bakery. Until now.

Sarah Hobbs from Australian Good Taste shared a simple choux pastry recipe that I was certain I could follow:

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/13020/choux+pastry

In a saucepan with 1/3 cup of water, I tossed small cubes of butter (40 grams, to be exact) and let the butter melt and then start to come to a gentle boil over medium low heat. For je ne sais quois, I added a drop of almond extract as well.

butter and water and almond extract

Then in went 1/3 cup of white flour and I stirred until I got this pleasing lump of dough:

flourball

The dough had to cool for 5 minutes, so my attention turned to the eggs on the counter. Two eggs were cracked; 2 whites and 1 yolk were whisked in one bowl while the other was one whisked yolk for glazing.

eggs

Once the flour dough was cool, I combined it with the 2 whites and 1 yolk. This mixture was then dropped by the half-spoonful onto a prepared baking sheet.

on the sheet

The oven started to preheat to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and while I waited, each sweet doughball was tenderly basted with the remaining egg yolk.

brushed with reserved yolk

The choux pastry balls slid into the hot oven where they insisted on no peeking until their 25 minute sauna was over. Much to my delight, they were tanned, puffy perfection!

baked

After pricking each with a toothpick to let off excess steam, I set them aside to cool for 15 minutes and concentrated on THE WEAPON.

the gun

Having outfitted my cookie press with a pointed nozzle and filled its reservoir with creamy strawberry Greek yogurt, it was time for a flavour injection. The nozzle made it easy to insert the tip of the press and soon each profiterole was full of a rich treat.  The tiny morsels were then whisked off to the freezer to wait until it was time for dessert.

stuffed with yogurt

I don’t mind telling you that every last one disappeared. Yummy! Why didn’t I try this before?

Nutrition (per yogurt-stuffed profiterole):

  • Calories: 55
  • Fat: 3.8 g
  • Carbs: 3.5 g
  • Protein: 2 g
2 thoughts on “Profiteroles filled with creamy strawberry Greek yogurt

  1. Kountry I am having issues wrapping my head around this freezing of the yogurt. I know they have frozen yogurt, but for some reason I’m just amazed that you froze regular yogurt… They look cute tho!

    Like

Leave a Reply

