Sugar and Spice…Salmon? Yes Salmon!

I adore salmon, I love the delicious fatty texture and beautiful pink/red flesh of the fish. I’ve rarely had a piece of salmon that tasted overly fishy. I know that sounds odd, but some fish taste like a strong fish smell.

I’ve been making this recipe, or variants of it, for years. I’ve even made it with trout. You need to have a fatty fish, no worries because fish fat is good for you, to hold up to this.

Here’s what you need, besides a well ventilated kitchen if you isn’t like fish! ☺️
INGREDIENTS
A scant 1/4 c pickling spice,
2 tbsp dry vermouth or you can use Apple juice
1 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
Salmon, now the amounts are based on using a whole side of salmon, so you can make the full amount or cut back.
1 lemon, sliced into rounds (optional)

Preheat oven to 450F. You probably want to position your oven rack to the upper third of your oven before preheating it, unless you like the additional adventure of realizing you don’t have your rack set right AFTER you’ve preheated the oven! I like to think I do this so that I can have an adventure because otherwise it’s a hair of a failure on my part! πŸ˜‰.

Now I know what you are thinking, this is going to be messy and in a way it will, but if you follow my directions it should be okay! So to avoid horrible messes I beg you and beseech you to please line your baking sheet with foil. Don’t even think of skipping this part unless you want a big mess!

If you have a spice grinder or coffee grinder you don’t use any more, grab it because it’s fun to use. If you don’t, get a plastic bag and a rolling pin and start crushing! πŸ˜‰ I own a grinder, but frankly I enjoy the feeling and sound of the spices under the rolling pin. And I don’t mind things chunky!

Now we are ready to have some fun! Get a small bowl, I don’t care what it looks like, you just need one to make a mixing mess in! Got your bowl? Good, now take 2 tbsp of the pickling spice mix and add into the bowl. To this add your liquid, typically vermouth or Apple juice, but maple syrup works great too! Stir that until it’s nicely blended and then add your brown sugar and salt and stir some more. You should have a nice paste. You can alter the amounts of dry or liquid to suit yourself.

Now for our friend the salmon, if you feel fancy what you can do is take the salmon, lay it skin side down on the foil and slice into 8 portions cutting only through the flesh and not the skin. If you don’t want to be fancy, don’t have a whole side of salmon or whatever simply rub the mixture on the pieces you have.

Is your salmon happily rubbed? Good now it’s time for a quick visit in the oven! πŸ˜€ Basically your salmon is going to roast happily in oven for 14-16 mins, until it flakes and is cooked.

To serve take the salmon off the skin and present with lemon slices. I like to have a nice salad to go with is because of how rich salmon is.

2 thoughts on “Sugar and Spice…Salmon? Yes Salmon!

  1. You know Town, I sometimes wonder how it is that we’re often thinking the same thing when we haven’t spoken to each other. Last night I had salmon with garlic and herbs and while today is all about iron, tomorrow was going to be another salmon adventure – I’ve been thinking about a sweet and spicy version. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

