Chocolate, Hazelnuts, and a Mess! Oh My

I like chocolate, well that may in fact be a bit of an understatement. Himself loves chocolate and nuts.

So when I came across a recipe that brought the two together I thought why not? What’s the worst that could happen?

Can you say disaster on several different levels? I knew you could.

It started with me moving a bag of sugar out of the way, only to have the bag break open all over the floor. Cue clean up in the pantry, ๐Ÿ˜‰. Actually you better cue that clean up again because the besom sugar refused to be left out. Yep you read that right, the floor for two types of sugar on it. And this all before I started to cook! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Okay son,of ing forward from the clean up to operation roast the hazelnuts. Apparently they’re a stubborn nut. You are supposed to roast the nuts, remove their skins and chop them. So I got my nuts, roasted them in a pan (note, next time use the oven) then after that I threw them in a towel and rubbed their skins off, as best I could.

Cue the next clean up, skins all over the floor. Follow this up with a sweeping because when I went to chop them, I scattered bits all over the place.

If you haven’t been daunted by the adventure yet here is the recipe for Brown Sugar Hazlenut Bars:
http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/recipefinder/brown-sugar-hazelnut-bars-recipe-ghk1214

Now I’m. It going to lie, I changed things a bit because I hate using cooking spray. I hate it so much I don’t have any! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Instead I used foil in a pan and it worked okay. Mine didn’t turn out as stunning as the picture and frankly as lively as all that creamed butter and brown sugar with vanilla looked, it didn’t stay that way, after being cooked it was a bit harder than anticipated.

And frankly next time I’d just use some chocolate ganache or so and skip the Nutella because I found it too sweet. But that’s just me! Himself is enjoying the bits that crumbled off when I cut them.

Here is what mine looked like before I pressed the nuts down.

IMG_0160.JPG

I won’t show you what they look like cut because well they look passable, they are nothing like the picture.

I told Himself bedtime I’m making a tender, almost whipped shortbread bottom, melted chocolate or ganache and then using some toasted almonds. And maybe, just maybe a splash of an almond liquor.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate, Hazelnuts, and a Mess! Oh My

Leave a Reply

