Chili Seasoning/Dry Rub

Sweet Baboo and I are big fans of chili. We like it so much that in the winter months, we go through a LOT of chili seasoning packets.

One day (on yet another quick errand for chili making supplies), I looked at the little chili seasoning packet in the store. There weren’t many ingredients. It couldn’t be that hard to make….. and that was all the incentive I needed to begin a search. The more I searched, the more people I found who made their own and said it was far superior to the packets sold in the grocery store. Like garam masala, every cook who posted a recipe said that their chili seasoning was the best. How could I ever choose?

I didn’t! Instead of going with one recipe or another, I read many and wrote down what the ingredients were. Afterwards, I compared the amounts and the spices. They ALL looked good, so why not use everything listed?

Eager to end last-minute errands to the grocery store, and hoping for something just as quick and easy as throwing the contents of a packet in, I decided there was no other option than to put together a big batch of my own chili packets. Here’s what I bought:

  • cupcake papers
  • Ziploc snack bags (these are half the size of sandwich bags)
  • 2 bottles of 150g chili powder
  • 1 bottle of 150g garlic powder
  • 1 bottle of 170g onion salt
  • 1 bottle of 130g paprika
  • 1 bag of 50g basil leaves
  • 1 bag of 15g parsley flakes
  • 1 bottle of 100g ground black pepper
  • 2 bottles of 90g ground cumin
  • 1 bottle of 80g cayenne pepper
  • 1 bottle of 76g crushed chilies
  • 1 bottle of 45g oregano leaves
  • a small bag of brown sugar (I used 1/2 cup)

At home, I dumped the contents of every bag and bottle into two mixing bowls and then measured half cup of brown sugar to add in. Everything was stirred together well. Then I arranged 37 cupcake papers on the counter and spooned the mixture into each one, being careful to keep them all even. Once the mixture had vanished from the bowls and now sat happily in the cupcake papers, it was time to bag it all up.

seasoning

Everything above cost $53 and some change. That would buy about 17 packets in the grocery store.

The end result turned out to be much more flavourful than the store-bought packets and I found that a big pot of chili really only needed half of one of the home-made packets, so just by spending a little time, we got over 4 packets for the price of one. This spice mixture can be used as a dry rub for meat or a seasoning for vegetables as well as in a pot of chili, so it is a great multi-tasker. An added bonus is that when we open the cupboard, the pleasing aroma of chili spice greets us and encourages us to stay in and cook. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Chili Seasoning/Dry Rub

  1. You know I’ve never bought a packet of chili spice, I’ve always just mixed my own. Until you mentioned it, had no clue they even made the stuff. It’s funny how in he end it’s all pretty much the same with just an individual twist!

    Like

Leave a Reply

