A Perfectly Unpretentious Pudding

Well Kountry I’m still not my usual “get in the kitchen and give it a try self”. To be honest I’m not my usual enjoy the food self either. So no cooking on my part. However Himself has decided that now is the perfect time to tempt me with his childhood favourite foods.

Today he proudly came in with a bowl of something pale, which he promised would “go down just a treat”. Now don’t get me wrong, it’s lovely of him to be cooking for me and trying to tempt me back to eating, but well there is a bit of me that’s just the overly concerned and constant need to stuff me does get a bit tiring now and then, (Yes I’m ungracious and dreadful!)

Anyway back to the place now of what turned out to be a bowl of semolina pudding. And much to my surprise, it was tasty and just the thing. (Shh don’t tell him as it will surely go to his head!). πŸ˜‰

I thought you might like it so here’s what you need:
2 1/2 c milk
1/3 c sugar (more or less to taste)
1/3 c semolina
1/2 tsp (well rounded) cinnamon
1 vanilla bean
1/2 c raisins
Some toasted sliced almonds
Heavy cream, whipped

In a pan combine the milk, sugar semolina cinnamon and vanilla bean (halved and split). Give a gentle stir.
Bring this to a simmer (medium-high heat) and then reduce the temperature to low and stir in the raisins. Cook, uncovered, for 12-14 minutes or until it thickens slightly, then add some of the sliced almonds.

Remove from heat, and carefully fish out the vanilla bean halves. You need to be careful because this will be very hot, but it’s important to scrap put the seeds and it it back into the mixture.

Stir in some of the cream to give it a nice texture and serve in a bowl garnished with some more almonds and a healthy dollop of cream on top!

Himself says that the cream isn’t required and they didn’t have it growing up, but it’s a nice touch. The wonderful thing is that semolina is a mild flavour and will take on whatever additives you put in.

3 thoughts on “A Perfectly Unpretentious Pudding

Leave a Reply

