Pepper Soup – it’s all gravy to me

Town, do you remember when I had broken my wrist and you came over to cook with me? The recipe called for gravy and I hauled out a Tupperware container of bright orange liquid. You looked a tad askance. I explained that it was alright – it was red pepper soup. That didn’t really allay any fears, so you waited until Sweet Baboo downed it at suppertime and didn’t fall over. Knowing how “discerning” he can be, you figured it couldn’t be that bad, you ate some, and <gasp> LIVED!

Well, this is that soup. It’s really versatile. It can be used as the cooking liquid for rice, pasta or cornmeal to add flavour. It can season a roast in the slowcooker. It steams into porcupine meatballs to make them both savoury and tender. It steam-cooks perogies. Or you can just eat it straight as soup.

I was happy to discover this recipe years ago on allrecipes.com by Judi.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/red-pepper-soup/

It’s so good that if there isn’t any in the freezer, I don’t make anything requiring sauce or gravy until I’ve made a new batch. There just is no substitute.

This is a special batch because my little pepper plants just gave up their bounty and while I usually only ever use bell peppers, these little guys were too cute to resist.

baby bells hungarians and jalapenos

To this, I will add 3 bell peppers from the store.

big bells

The first thing one has to do is measure 2 Tbsp butter and melt it in a medium-sized saucepan.

2 tbsp butter melting

Round up some garlic cloves.

garlic

Peel off the outer skin and dice the garlic. Do the same to one large onion. Throw the diced garlic and onion into the pan with the butter.

Wash, de-seed and dice the peppers. Add them to the pot and cover for 15 minutes so that the vegetables sweat.

diced

Into the pot they go!

sweating

Enjoying the sauna.

Now it is time to pour in 4 cups of chicken stock.

4 cups chicken stock in the pot

Put the lid back on and simmer for 30 minutes. You’ll know it is ready when it looks like this without even putting a spoon in to stir it up:

after 30 minutes simmering

This is when I transfer everything into a big dutch oven. The high sides mean that when I am using my immersion blender to liquefy the vegetables , it isn’t splashing onto my shirt. Much.

Place a wire mesh strainer over a clean bowl and strain the soup into it.

straining out the pulp

I DID have a bowl-shaped strainer. That is, until Sweet Baboo appropriated it to use as a fish aquarium gravel cleaner. The thought of fish doo-doo in my food was less than appealing, so that strainer was not allowed back in the kitchen. Town, remind me to have him get me a new strainer – the flat one just doesn’t work as well as I’d like.

This process gives you two products: pulp and soup.

pulp strained

Cover the pulp with plastic wrap and put it in the refrigerator. It’s a great addition to almost any savoury meal. Once that is done, pour the bowl of soup back into the saucepan.

Add 1 cup of full-fat whipping cream to the soup and bring it to a boil.

add 1 cup full fat cream

Once it has come to a boil, take it off the heat. You can eat it right away as soup, but I freeze it in one-cup containers to be used later. The black flecks are freshly ground black pepper to add some zing to the silky soup.

sprinkled with pepper and ready to freeze

4 thoughts on “Pepper Soup – it’s all gravy to me

  1. Wondering what to do with the pulp leftover from this recipe? It makes a tasty thickener in almost any homemade soup or meatball, but what I really love it in is polenta fries…..recipe coming soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

