Yes I Cooked In The Microwave – Pumpkin Yum!

I’m not sure if you are like me, but sometimes you end up with little bits of stuff left over and you wonder what to do with it. You have used enough of the item in your recipe, but there is still some of the product left over and you don’t want it to go to waste.

I ran into this recently while working with canned pumpkin. I had some left over and not a lot of desire to do anything with it so I put it in a bowl and left it in the fridge for another day.

Fast forward two days and the pumpkin is there needing, demanding, to be used in a wonderful way. But not having a lot of stuff on hand, not a lot of energy to do much, what’s a person to do? (I should also confess to having a bit of guilt around the microwave, which is hardly ever used and that seems unfair.). So this recipe I found is just perfect!

It’s roughly a pumpkin pie minus the crust, cooked in the microwave using a few ingredients. Himself was a bit beside, well, himself, at the thought of eating food cooked in the microwave. Yet even he, after my tweaks, rather enjoyed it and forgot about the fact it was cooked in the, gasp of horror, microwave!

The original recipe can be found here among other places:
http://www.katheats.com/favorite-foods/pumpkin-pie-cake-recipe

Frankly I didn’t have that much pumpkin left over so I switched it up a bit and used more egg white. It tends to be more like a cake that way. I also used a wee bit of butter on the bowl, just to keep it from sticking because using more eggs meant a little longer cooking time.

Himself isn’t a pie person and neither am I generally,but this turned out just right. And it doesn’t make a whole lot either so it’s more just a snack! A fast, simple and tasty yet low fat snack for autumn!

Leave a Reply

