Jumbo Peppernut Muffins

It’s that time again…

Time to make more muffins for breakfast.

After eating a certain kind of muffin for a while, a person wants something new, so off to the internet I traipsed, looking for adventure. I think Sweet Baboo would certainly say this recipe was an adventure – you’ll see why in a moment.

It’s starting to get chilly in the morning – the kind of briskness that tells you snow is coming soon. When that happens, I start to want more spice in my life. Gingerbread muffins seemed like just the ticket, so I headed over to Kristin’s Dizzy, Busy and Hungry page and found this recipe:

http://www.dizzybusyandhungry.com/apple-butter-gingerbread-loaf/

What I like about Kristin’s recipe is that the apple butter takes the place of fat, so not a drop of butter goes in. As usual, I couldn’t help but play with the ingredients a little more and what came out of the oven was a blast from the past. It tasted just like Christmas peppernut cookies – something I have been longing for because I never could find a recipe that was just right. It’s enough to make me smile all over on the inside. 🙂

To start, measure out 4 cups whole wheat flour into a HUGE bowl. Add:

  • 1 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cardamom

Sift the dry ingredients together well.

In another bowl, mix together:

  • 1 cup apple butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup fancy molasses
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Now it’s time to add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and stir it well so there are no bits of dry flour noticeable. In a prepared muffin tin, spoon copious amounts (in my case that meant 4 heaping teaspoons) of the coffee-coloured batter into muffin papers.

batter up

Bake the muffins for 30 minutes. The muffins are moist, slightly spicy and oh so comforting.

done side view

I used large muffin papers and got 13 titanic muffins. That’s not all – 10 minutes into baking them, I also got an alarmed Sweet Baboo who excitedly danced into the kitchen proclaiming loudly that something was burning. I couldn’t smell anything at first. Thinking that it was just the cardamom, I sauntered into the kitchen to find blue smoke pouring out of the top burner. Hmm. That can’t be good. When I opened the door, I discovered that the muffins had expanded to massive proportions and many had spilled over the muffin tins, dropping large glops of batter onto the oven floor. Within a minute, every window in the house was opened and every fan set on high. If anyone had been looking in our windows, I’m sure they would have thought that we were recreating an episode of “I Love Lucy”…flailing arms and all! We weren’t sure whether to fish the burning masses out of the oven or leave them in. That’s when I texted you, Town. When you didn’t answer, I decided to leave them in and just let the muffins cook. I’m glad I did because they turned out beautifully. Next time I make these though, there will be a tinfoil-covered rack under the muffin tins because at least then I wouldn’t have to vacuum out the oven!

3 thoughts on “Jumbo Peppernut Muffins

  1. Well then I certainly don’t feel as bad about missing your text! I have always put a foil pan underneath what I’m baking if I know the item may spill over or boil over by my oven is a lair. It says it’s self-cleaning, but it rewuires human intervention!😉

    Like

  2. Yeah, the whole “self-cleaning” thing is a bit of a misnomer. Someone still has to rake out all the charred bits after the oven burns everything to bits in that process. That someone wasn’t me this time…..I woke up in the middle of the night and walked into the kitchen to find Sweet Bamboo finishing off the dishes and scouring the racks as a surprise for me. I felt like a very lucky girl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

