Marmalade Wonder Cookies

Well, Town, I guess today we were both thinking about baking. You made fabulous oat bread and I made cookies. Normally when Sweet Baboo and I get home on a weekday, we’re not feeling inspired where cooking is concerned, but today I found out that he had a potluck lunch the next day and nothing to bring to it. So I started thinking about cookies. Marmalade Cookies. These ones are great cookies and as long as a person sticks to the recipe, they are fail-proof. It was a hard lesson for me to learn, but

MORE does not equal MORE

MORE equals BURNT

Ick. Burnt is the last thing I want to see.

I follow the recipe exactly now and they are wonderful. That’s why Wonder is in the name. 🙂 The really cool thing about these is that they smell amazing – like fresh orange zest when the orange oil is permeating the air – and they have a bit of bite that feels like a little sizzle on your tongue when you eat them. Oh, and they’re lusciously buttery. Even Sweet Baboo will eat the whole batch right out of the oven and he LOATHES marmalade. They’re that good.

This recipe is from a 1950s cookbook and it was meant to be something you could whip up from essentials you likely already had in your cupboard. I am forever grateful to Midwestern Exposure for introducing me to these beauties. Here is the link to the original recipe:

http://midwesternexposure.wordpress.com/2011/02/23/circa-1950-orange-marmalade-cookies/

I make my own marmalade so I generally always have a few jars on hand.

I make my own marmalade so I generally always have a few jars on hand.

Here’s how to throw them together:

In a bowl, combine 1/3 cup butter, 6 Tbsp orange marmalade, 2/3 cup white sugar and 1 egg.

marmalade, sugar and butter

In another bowl, combine 1 1/2 cups white flour and 1 1/2 tsp baking powder. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix well with a spoon.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Drop the dough by the teaspoon-full onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet. The cookies spread quite a bit, so leave some room for them to grow.

batter up

Pop them into the oven and set a timer for 9 minutes. When the timer goes off, they will be very tender, but this is the right time to take them out – they firm up as they cool.

just out of the oven

Lift the cookies gently with a utensil and flip them upside-down on the counter to cool. This also flattens them nicely.

flipped out

After 4 minutes, they are ready to plate. Or pack for the potluck. 🙂

Ready to share!

Ready to share!

The recipe made 3 dozen cookies to share.

3 thoughts on “Marmalade Wonder Cookies

  1. They look and sound yummy. But as we all know, I have an issue, a defect, that simple doesn’t let me follow a recipe. At least not in the past, but these may be a reason to try again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

