Apple Butter Oatmeal Muffins – the taste of Fall

Sweet Baboo and I like muffins for breakfast. They are easy to make, easy to eat on the go and there are no dishes to wash. Win-Win!

These beauties have been a perennial favourite. They are toothsome and  VERY apple-y. I’ll bet you can’t stop at just one. I want one now even though it is bed-time – the whole house smells like cinnamon. YUM!

First, spoon two cups of apple butter into a large bowl and add 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup melted butter. Stir with a spoon until the mixture looks soft and silky, like this:

wet mix

In a separate bowl, combine:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup white flour

3/4 cup oatmeal

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

Note: You could just use 2 cups of any sort of flour rather than the two types I have listed along with the oatmeal. I like to mix things up…..sometimes the oatmeal gets replaced with 1/2 cup cocoa for rich, dark chocolate muffins – put in what you are hankering for. 🙂 I also rarely use the cloves because I like to experiment with spices to see what I like. (Can you hear Sweet Baboo groaning? Experiment is a bad word in his books. Let’s call it flirting with spicy adventure! Uh-oh. The groaning is getting louder…)

The dry mixture looks like this:

dry mix

At this point, before I combine the wet and dry mixtures, I turn the oven on to 350 degrees Fahrenheit so it can preheat. While I am waiting for it to come up to temperature, the muffin tins come out of hiding, the parchment paper baking cups are placed and THEN I mix. The baking soda in the recipe means that you have to mix quickly and the dough will be fluffy rather than wet and sticky. Maybe a picture is better – here’s what the dough looks like spooned into the baking cups. See how it doesn’t sink in? It just mounds up higher and higher. That’s ok – it will sort itself out in the oven.

ready for oven

25 minutes in the oven is all it takes. They will come out slightly springy and soft – then you know they are perfectly done.

fresh from the oven

See? They levelled out nicely. Flip them out of the pan onto the counter to cool for 3-5 minutes before you cover and store them in the fridge to enjoy later.

Is it breakfast time yet?

3 thoughts on “Apple Butter Oatmeal Muffins – the taste of Fall

  1. I’m gonna have to try these…looks simple. And heaven knows the house that I live in isfull of all kinds of oatmeal! 😉 I wonder if steel cut would work or would they remain too hard? Also I’m tempted to use a tart apple’of sorts…

    Like

  2. Hey Town – steel cut would definitely work. I use the large flake oatmeal that takes quite a while to cook, so steel cut aren’t that different. Of course, you could mix the oatmeal into the apple butter to “soak” for a while before following the recipe. We’ve been eating these all week and I haven’t met a more comforting morning meal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

