Green Giant

Swaddled in a basket, and nestled among brilliant flashes of color, he rested.  Who had left in front of the door for me to find, I do not know.  However he couldn’t stay out there and it appeared he was abandoned.  So I brought him into the house and set his basket down on the counter.

Now Zachariah’s is not a small name,  but given his stature it seemed to fit.  But what to do with him?  Give me a small version of him and I’d have a million plans, but a big boy already?  What to do?

Deciding he he was a bit hungry I opted to stuff him.

First I split him in half and scooped out his seeds etc.  He needed a nice clean inside to receive all the nourishment I was about to give him! 😉

Once I cleaned him up I removed both his head and his feet, well if he had feet that is.

Then into a lightly oiled pan he went waiting eagerly for his finery.

I had some ground chicken so I lightly fried that up with seasonings such as salt, pepper, thyme, pepper flakes, and cumin.  No measuring, just go by your nose and your tastebuds. Oh and a dash and a shake of breadcrumbs to give texture.

I decided more items were needed, things like two diced onions, a bit of yellow squash (it was what I didn’t use from a previous meal), a chili pepper finely diced oh and some tomato sauce.  I mixed all that in a pan, heating to and letting the flavors mingle.

Meanwhile back at the ground chicken, I spooned some of that into the cavity I made in my green friend then tossed on some cheese because why not?

Now for the part that requires danger pay, or it should.  Carefully spoon you sauce mixture over the meat layer and then top with cheese and bread crumbs.  Yep I know, it’s a bit like walking through a minefield, as you try not to make a mess.  Bet your tongue pokes through your teething!  😉

when you are ready to cook it, like later the same day, heat your oven to 350 and then put your own Zacharias, er, zucchini I mean into the oven and bake for roughly 30 minutes.  Just depends on how big your green giant is.

image

Zach,  stuffed and waiting for his moment to act like the witch from Hansel and Gretel, the part where the witch goes into the oven!  😉

2 thoughts on “Green Giant

Leave a Reply

