Currant Events

Sometimes you just have to bake, sometimes it’s an urge you have and other times it’s the strong urging from another being.  Sometimes those other beings, still human mind you–you know this by their instance and demands–will go so far as to bring hints to you as a means of encouraging you to bake.

A mound of currants found their way into my hands even those I was not wanting to swim in this stream.  Currants, in my world mean a form of Welsh Tea cakes,  these are cute little dainty everyday food that can be made in a pinch.  And rather than swimming against the current I decided to use the currants in the tea cakes.  This recipe allows for lots of flying by the seat of the pants which I adore.

The recipe is:

2 cups all purpose flour

Scant 1/4 cup of sugar (mine is much less)

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt (can omit if butter is salted)

1/4 tsp nutmeg (if you like)

1/4 tsp cinnamon (I tend to double this and ignore the nutmeg)

Scant 1/2 cup cold butter or margarine (be holed use the butter because it’s natural and tasty)

1/2 cup dried currants, okay so here’s the truth the person who likes currants really likes them so I change this number)

1/4 cup mixed peel(yeah this is one that I omit and instead double the amount of currants I use )

1 large egg that’s been beaten until slightly frothy, use a fork and get some nice foam there

1/3 cup of milk (give or take because the dough is based on feel)

now let the fun begin!  Mix the first 6 ingredients in a nice sturdy bowl and then cut in your cold butter.  (Use forks, pastry blender, 2 knives, whatever…have fun!)  You want nice crumbly dough, unless you are in a hurry or lazy, then aim for pea sized lumps in your dough.  Stir in your currants and peel or extra currants until they are coated.

Remember that egg, the one you made look like an egg cappuccino?  Good.  Add your milk to it and give it a nice stir, maybe two more for luck or to get it all mixed together, whatever way works.

Now be brave, don’t worry, just pour the liquid mixture into dry and stir until you can form a nice ball with the dough.  Just don’t play outside with it, it’s not that kind of ball.

Now let’s get dirty, lightly flour a surface, put you ball of dough on the surface, and roll until roughly 1/4 inch thick.  Again this is fly by the seat of your pants so really roll out to whatever you want, just impacts the cooking time.  Cut the dough into 2 or 3 inch rounds or whatever size cutter or glass you grab.  Again, this isn’t fine dining so just do it however works for you.  Place your dough on a heated frying pan (no butter or oil because, well, it’s in the dough) and cook your cakes until slightly golden brown, flip and do the same with the other side.  Serve warm or cold.

image

See those lovely currants just wanting to pull you in?  😉

And I had dried cherries so I followed the same dough recipe, but added some ground almonds and dried cherries for something new.

image

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Currant Events

  1. While I’m not fond of bread, these look delectable. Think I would do the same as far as doubling the currants and omitting the peel. Does anyone like peel? I like candied fruit, but can’t deal with the peel. Once when I was eating an orange at work, one of my colleagues came to see me and he ate every last scrap of peel from the orange – I was in shock! I know it’s good for you, but I just can’t do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

