Applesauce

apple

Every year in the fall, a box of MacIntosh apples would find its way into the house. Mom and Dad would carefully peel each apple, slice it into small pieces and make applesauce. The whole box would be consumed this way, and in short order – it was THE thing to eat for breakfast.

I’ve never succeeded in making applesauce quite the way my parents did. I guess that is always the way. Maybe we shouldn’t make things exactly the same so that the fond memories we have of certain things can never be supplanted.

The applesauce I make is meant to be another basic building block. It moistens cookies, cakes and muffins and melts over pork chops. No spices are added – this let me add spices to compliment the dish I am making with it.

Let’s get started. First, I cut up enough apples to fill one dutch oven. This is about 20 cups of quartered and cored apples.

One cup of water is all that is needed to steam these babies.

One cup of water is all that is needed to steam these babies.

Once a cup of water is poured in, put a lid on and steam them on medium low until they are soft and smooshy. Pretty sure that is a technical term! 🙂 The apple flesh kind of looks like popped popcorn when they are ready. As long as they are ripe, this will only take less than an hour.

Since I leave the peel on the apples, I use a blender to get a fairly consistent texture. If they were peeled, a potato masher would be all that was necessary – it just depends on whether a person wants to do more work at the beginning or at the end. After blending, it’s time to stir in sweetener if it is required. I used  a little maple syrup for this batch to try something new – usually about a cup of sugar is what normally goes in.

As a beauty I'm not a great star, Others are handsomer far. But my face, I don't mind it Because I'm behind it It's the folks out in front that I jar!

As a beauty I’m not a great star,
Others are handsomer far.
But my face, I don’t mind it
Because I’m behind it
It’s the folks out in front that I jar!

If you look closely, you can see what looks like white needles strewn through the applesauce. That’s the peel. It is soft and sweet and full of vitamins – who needs an “improved and enriched” label when you can have that for free?

Some sterilized jam jars were waiting in the sink, so once the applesauce was ladelled in, the lids went on and they cooled off before heading to the fridge.

Applesaucalicious!

Applesaucalicious!

3 thoughts on “Applesauce

Leave a Reply

