I say, if your knees aren’t green by the end of the day, you ought to seriously re-examine your life. ~Bill Watterson, Calvin & Hobbes

My knees aren’t green today – I’m spending time in the kitchen. That’s the way of the harvest: one day out, the next in the kitchen madly processing everything in sight. I look forward to this time of year. It’s exciting to start to see possibilities take shape.

Lately Sweet Baboo and I have been eating pickles. Not sure why. Just a phase, I guess. That must be why I instantly thought of pickles when these lovely green and purple beans crossed my path.

Going my way?

Going my way?

While there aren’t a lot of them, it was just the right amount for a sampling to see if this would become a regular staple.

Lauren Zietsman had a recipe for green bean refrigerator pickles and it looked like just the ticket.

http://www.fullmeasureofhappiness.com/2012/10/28/refrigerator-pickled-green-beans/

Why not? All I had to lose was a small amount of green beans.

The tops were trimmed off and they sat expectantly on the counter while I went hunting for dill to put in the bottom of the chosen receptacle. (I like that – doesn’t it sound so much more important than JAR? No? Sigh.)

There's a little dill in the jar, tra-la-la-la-laaa

There’s a little dill in the jar, tra-la-la-la-laaa

Being a bit excited and a bit tired, I dumped the beans unceremoniously into the jar.

Perhaps not their most flattering side, but there it is.

Perhaps not their most flattering side, but there it is.

3 cloves of garlic had to join them. I’ve gotten a little cautious about handling garlic. Memories of throwing garlic cloves into recipes with wild abandon only to find bright turquoise bombs of horrifically strong foulness had taken their place when I wasn’t looking haunted me. Not this time! Each clove was trimmed and then sliced in half so that I could carefully extract the middle section and avert catastrophe. NOW they could join the party.

If you look closely, you can see the middle sprout has been removed.

If you look closely, you can see the middle sprout has been removed.

Delightful. All that is left is the brine and it was simple. 2tsp salt, 3Tbsp white sugar, 2 cups white vinegar, 1 cup water were brought to a boil. As soon as the bubbles were rolling happily in the pan, the whole works were evacuated into the jar. It was interesting seeing the slow change of the purple beans to a sweet olive green with pink seams.

The final countdown.

The final countdown.

The whole kitchen smells like dilly perfection! In four days, we’ll get to try them. I can hardly wait!

4 thoughts on “I say, if your knees aren’t green by the end of the day, you ought to seriously re-examine your life. ~Bill Watterson, Calvin & Hobbes

  1. I dare say, you might not have green knees, however you must have a very green kitchen! The part you love about the harvest are the parts I hate the most. The rushing to save everything when all I really want to do is sit and savor it, enjoying every little bit in sweet, slow time. Probably why I believe in these things called stores…

    Like

    • Ah Town, the time for savouring is winter when you can sit back, warm your feet and taste some of the sweet fruits of your labour. Stores are good, but they don’t compare to the satisfaction a person gets from knowing what’s in the jar, how it got there and that it is amazingly good.

      Like

    • Why, so I have! They have a good bite to them and they’re nice and crisp – just the way I like a pickle. Thanks for the idea – if it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t have tried it!
      -Kountry

      Like

Leave a Reply

