Do Chua pickles with a twist

A week ago, one of my friends gave me a pretty purple kohlrabi. What to do, what to do? Hmmm…

How my mind skipped from kohlrabi to carrots to do chua pickles, I’ll never know. The only thing they really all share is a ‘c’ sound somewhere, but as soon as the thought entered my head, I couldn’t detour around it. I could blame my one-track mind on my cold, but that’s really just passing the buck.

The beginnings of an adventure.

The beginnings of an adventure.

Elise posted a simple recipe for Vietnamese banh mi sandwich pickles and I thought it was a great starting point:

www.simplyrecipes.com/m/recipes/vietnamese_daikon_and_carrot_pickles/

The problem is, a kohlrabi does not a daikon radish make. Will this even work? We’ll see.

I started by peeling everything: (cue the burlesque intro 🙂 )

You clean up real nice, stranger!

You clean up real nice, stranger!

Now for the tedious part – the vegetables had to be cut into matchstick proportions. Time to practice those knife skills!

Phew!

Phew!

It took a while to do, but they looked pretty good. Since they are a little too crunchy at this point, it’s time for 4tsp sugar and 2tsp salt to help them get in a more pliable frame of mind.

To help the process along, mix it all up with your hands for 4 minutes.

To help the process along, mix it all up with your hands for 4 minutes.

After 4 minutes of mixing, the vegetables look silky and shiny. The best part is that they are also BENDY. You should be able to do this:

Apparently this makes for a desirable carrot...

Apparently this makes for a desirable carrot…

Think of the sugar and salt as a beauty treatment. It’s like a facial. It’s got to be rinsed off because no self-respecting carrot would got out in public that way. Into the shower!

Siiiiinging in the rain

Siiiiinging in the rain

As Sweet Baboo says, they’re now squeakity clean! Into the jar they go:

jarred

Now for the brine. This was the easiest part. Two cups of white vinegar with one cup of white sugar and one cup of warm water got stirred together until the sugar dissolved. Just pour it in.

I have been in such a pickle since I saw you last. - Shakespeare (The Tempest)

I have been in such a pickle since I saw you last. – Shakespeare (The Tempest)

Now the whole concoction sits in the refrigerator for two days to marinate and they’re ready to enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Do Chua pickles with a twist

  1. Pity the pickle is lacking the pure power of the purple which was stripped off the kohlrabi. Of course the purple might make it looks putrid too. We can’t have it all and given that there is full on raw nakedness in the post I guess there is a stark beauty in that removing of all outer disguises.

    Like

  2. That’s an interesting thought. I do prefer things in their rawest, most honest form. The hymn “Just As I Am” comes to mind. It’s been playing in my mind for the last few days – maybe that is how these pickles came to be.

    Like

    • Just fed Sweet Baboo these pickles, Town. Would you believe he liked these ones and not the green bean ones? Strange how he seems to like the new things I feed him quietly yet protest when I announce in the store that there will be something new.

      Like

Leave a Reply

