“We find comfort among those who agree with us – growth among those who don’t.” -Frank Clark

An aspiring chatelaine, I try to make things for my home. It doesn’t always work out, but that hasn’t stopped me yet, much to Sweet Baboo’s chagrin.

This long weekend was my inaugural sewing weekend. It was a tradition in the past that got lost along the way – reinstating it was a joyous thing! What to make? WHAT TO MAKE?

After constructing several beautiful dresses in my mind, I settled for something practical that I’d been promising to do for months – make a slipcover for the couch. He’s a dignified gent – a 30+ year old Sklar Pepplar:

Let's call him Percival.

Let’s call him Percival.

A discount fabric store that I love had sold me 8m of soft, rust-coloured corduroy with embroidered paisley motifs on it for $6.

material

Rather than make full pattern pieces for a tailored piece, I chose to do a rough sketch of the pieces I would need:

pattern

Determined to adjust as I went, the cutting and assembling began. 3 hours later, I had a fully finished slipcover.

The emperor's new clothes

The emperor’s new clothes

Percival has a whole new lease on life and the washable cover will ensure that he will be around for many more years.

3 thoughts on ““We find comfort among those who agree with us – growth among those who don’t.” -Frank Clark

Leave a Reply

